Funding & benefits
“Fully-funded studentships (stipend and fee waiver) are awarded by Techne to the best students put forward by its member universities.”
Eligible programmes & fields
Use the verified study fields above for subject-fit screening and confirm the exact eligible degree on the provider’s official programme page before applying.
About this opportunity
Techne Doctoral Training Partnership (AHRC) Open Call is an open studentship at University of Brighton. Pay and conditions, as stated by University of Brighton: "Fully-funded studentships (stipend and fee waiver) are awarded by Techne to the best students put forward by its member universities." Eligibility, as stated by University of Brighton: "Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree." The closing date is 5 January 2025. A supervisor must be secured.
The opportunity currently maps to study areas including All study areas. Use the programme and eligibility sections below to decide whether the opportunity matches your academic background before opening the official application portal.
Key dates
Eligibility requirements
- Applications from both Home and non-UK resident students can be accepted. There will be a recruitment cap of 30% on non-UK resident studentships awarded across the consortium. The management of this cap will be through the selection process at consortium rather than institutional level. Successful candidates will receive a full stipend and fees at the UKRI rate.
- The AHRC guidelines for funding stipulate that if successful, students must live in the UK and within reasonable access to the Institution they are registered at.
- See Techne guidance notes (included in Techne online application process) for full details of residency requirements.
- Applicants whose first language is not English and/or who are not resident in exempt countries must have successfully completed a Secure English language Test (SELT) in the last two years. Applicants who have obtained a UK degree in the last three years or who are currently studying for a UK degree may apply without a SELT. However, the university may request a SELT is taken as part of any award made. See UK Government guidance for full details.
- English language IELTS requirements should be 7.0 overall, 7.0 for writing, and none below 6.5.
- Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree.
- IELTS: minimum 7
- Applicants whose first language is not English and/or who are not resident in exempt countries must have successfully completed a Secure English language Test (SELT) in the last two years.
- Academic background: Applicants whose first language is not English and/or who are not resident in exempt countries must have successfully completed a Secure English language Test (SELT) in the last two years. Applicants who have obtained a UK degree in the last three years or who are currently studying for a UK degree may apply without a SELT.
“Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree.”
Should you apply?
Applicants should be at PhD / Doctoral level working in All study areas. The decisive requirement, in University of Brighton's words, is: "Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree." Expect to prepare 2 documents (listed below).
Check these against your profile
- Academic level: PhD / Doctoral.
- Study area: All study areas.
- Prior degree / academic background: Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree..
- English-language requirement: IELTS 7.
- Funding package: fully funded.
Review carefully if
- Applicants who do not hold the required prior degree/background may not be eligible.
- Applicants who cannot meet the stated language requirement should review the official waiver/rule carefully.
This is a factual checklist of verified programme requirements, not a personalised eligibility decision. The awarding institution makes the final eligibility decision.
Required documents
- Applicants are required to identify a potential supervisor and to discuss their research proposal before submitting an application. Speculative applications will not be accepted. See How to Apply/Before you Apply below for guidance and links.
- University of Brighton online application: Complete your University of Brighton application (see below), attaching your transcripts, references, passport and the PDF of your Techne application. (Please note, in some sections, the two forms ask for duplicate information; please ensure you complete all fields in both forms.)
Application process
- Apply online
- Log in or register as a new user to complete a University of Brighton online application
- Select the following options from the drop down menus
Application checklist
- Compare your profile with the verified eligibility criteria on this page.
- Review the official application page for the complete list of required documents.
- Complete the verified supervisor requirement before submitting the final application.
- Use the official application route linked on this page rather than a third-party submission form.
- Submit before the verified application timing shown in the Key dates section.
This checklist organises the verified requirements already shown on this page; it does not replace the provider’s official instructions.
Frequently asked questions
What funding comes with Techne Doctoral Training Partnership (AHRC) Open Call?
University of Brighton states: "Fully-funded studentships (stipend and fee waiver) are awarded by Techne to the best students put forward by its member universities."
Is Techne Doctoral Training Partnership (AHRC) Open Call fully funded?
Yes. The verified funding record classifies it as fully funded.
What are the eligibility requirements?
In University of Brighton's own words: "Applicants must satisfy AHRC eligibility requirements and should normally have a masters degree."
Which degree level does Techne Doctoral Training Partnership (AHRC) Open Call support?
It is for PhD / Doctoral level applicants at University of Brighton in Multiple / not stated.
Is an English test required?
IELTS 7.
Is Techne Doctoral Training Partnership (AHRC) Open Call still open?
No. The most recent round has closed (deadline 5 January 2025). This award has run before; check the official page for the next round.
Where do I apply?
Directly with University of Brighton, through the official application page linked from this record.
Do I need a supervisor before applying?
Yes. The application record indicates a supervisor must be secured before or as part of the application.
Which documents does University of Brighton ask for?
The official page lists 2 items: Applicants are required to identify a potential supervisor and to discuss their research proposal before submitting an application. Speculative applications will not be accepted. See How to Apply/Before you Apply below for guidance and links, University of Brighton online application: Complete your University of Brighton application (see below), attaching your transcripts, references, passport and the PDF of your Techne application. (Please note, in some sections, the two forms ask for duplicate information; please ensure you complete all fields in both forms.).
Official sources & verification
ScholarshipFrontier checks official scholarship, admissions and programme pages and keeps source evidence separate from the public summary.
Official sources last checked: 12 Oct 2026 · Verified 2 h ago
About University of Brighton
University of Brighton is based in Multiple / not stated and publishes this opportunity on its own official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier reads directly.