Funding & benefits
“ESRC through the South Coast DTP provides a tax-free stipend at UKRI rates (£21,805 per year for 2026-27) and covers fees for the duration of the studentship (four years and six months for 1+3.5, and three years and six months for +3.5).”
Eligible programmes & fields
Use the verified study fields above for subject-fit screening and confirm the exact eligible degree on the provider’s official programme page before applying.
About this opportunity
South Coast Doctoral Training Partnership (ESRC) is an open studentship at University of Brighton. Pay and conditions, as stated by University of Brighton: "ESRC through the South Coast DTP provides a tax-free stipend at UKRI rates (£21,805 per year for 2026-27) and covers fees for the duration of the studentship (four years and six months for 1+3.5, and three years and six months for +3.5)." Eligibility, as stated by University of Brighton: "All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries." Applications open on 1 October 2027 and close on 3 January 2027.
The opportunity currently maps to study areas including All study areas. Use the programme and eligibility sections below to decide whether the opportunity matches your academic background before opening the official application portal.
Key dates
Eligibility requirements
- a good honours degree at first or upper second-class level, from a UK academic higher education institution, or a combination of qualifications and/or experience that is equivalent to a relevant UK degree.
- a level of research training that would allow them to proceed directly to PhD. This is usually through the attainment of a previous masters qualification in the social sciences with a Merit grade.
- Exploring the role of digital and print resources in English language and literacy acquisition in relation to wellbeing of refugee children (Liliane Broschart).
- Exploring engagement with green and blue spaces among minority ethnic communities in rural Ireland (Órla Bredin).
- The impact of digitalisation on public and third sector services supporting people for whom English is an additional language (Sidney Lupupa Mushinge).
- An institutional (University of Brighton) research degree application (deadline 03 January 2027).
- copies of your bachelors and masters certificates (if applicable), including transcripts
- copy of your IELTS (or equivalent) certificate (if applicable)
- Select the type of course 'research degree'.
- Details of the modules in your masters (if applicable)
- IELTS: minimum 7
- All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries.
“All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries.”
Should you apply?
It suits PhD / Doctoral applicants working in All study areas. The decisive requirement, in University of Brighton's words, is: "All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries." The closing date is 82 days away, so there is time to prepare a considered application. Expect to prepare 3 documents (listed below).
Check these against your profile
- Academic level: PhD / Doctoral.
- Study area: All study areas.
- English-language requirement: IELTS 7.
Review carefully if
- Applicants who cannot meet the stated language requirement should review the official waiver/rule carefully.
This is a factual checklist of verified programme requirements, not a personalised eligibility decision. The awarding institution makes the final eligibility decision.
Required documents
- copies of your bachelors and masters certificates (if applicable), including transcripts
- copy of your passport
- copy of your research proposal
Application process
- Click on the ‘apply online now’ button on the right.
- Select 'create a new account' to register and start a new application.
- Select the type of course 'research degree'.
- Select mode of study 'full-time' or 'part-time'.
- Select 'Doctoral College'.
- Select the course 'South Coast DTP (ESRC)' (full-time or part-time).
- Register to complete the SCDTP funding application form
Application checklist
- Compare your profile with the verified eligibility criteria on this page.
- Review the official application page for the complete list of required documents.
- Use the official application route linked on this page rather than a third-party submission form.
This checklist organises the verified requirements already shown on this page; it does not replace the provider’s official instructions.
Frequently asked questions
What is the value of South Coast Doctoral Training Partnership (ESRC)?
University of Brighton states: "ESRC through the South Coast DTP provides a tax-free stipend at UKRI rates (£21,805 per year for 2026-27) and covers fees for the duration of the studentship (four years and six months for 1+3.5, and three years and six months for +3.5)."
Am I eligible for South Coast Doctoral Training Partnership (ESRC)?
In University of Brighton's own words: "All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries."
Is this for Master's, PhD or postdoctoral applicants?
It is for PhD / Doctoral level applicants at University of Brighton in Multiple / not stated.
Is an English test required?
IELTS 7.
Is there a deadline?
The official page does not state a closing date. Confirm timing directly with University of Brighton before preparing an application.
When do applications open?
Applications open on 1 October 2027.
Where do I apply?
Directly with University of Brighton, through the official application page linked from this record.
What do I need to submit?
The official page lists 3 items: copies of your bachelors and masters certificates (if applicable), including transcripts, copy of your passport, copy of your research proposal.
How was this information verified?
Every fact on this page was read from University of Brighton's official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier rechecks automatically; the sources and the last check date are listed at the bottom of the page.
Official sources & verification
ScholarshipFrontier checks official scholarship, admissions and programme pages and keeps source evidence separate from the public summary.
Official sources last checked: 12 Oct 2026 · Verified 2 h ago
Timeline context
- Closes in 82 days (Sunday 3 January 2027).
About University of Brighton
University of Brighton is based in Multiple / not stated and publishes this opportunity on its own official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier reads directly.