Funding & benefits
Successful candidates will receive a tax-free stipend (grant) at the UKRI rate (£20,780 per year for 2025-26, rising to £21,805 in 2026-27) and a Home (only) fee waiver. International applications will not be accepted.
Study can be undertaken on either a full-time or part-time basis.
“The University of Brighton is pleased to launch an open call for up to 10 fully-funded PhD studentships with start dates from June to July 2026.”
Eligible programmes & fields
Use the verified study fields above for subject-fit screening and confirm the exact eligible degree on the provider’s official programme page before applying.
About this opportunity
PhD studentships open call 2025-26 PhD studentships open call 2025-26 The University of Brighton is pleased to launch an open call for up to 10 fully-funded PhD studentships with start dates from June to July 2026. The studentships are open to applicants eligible for Home fees only and at least five of the studentships are reserved for alumni students who have completed degree studies (undergraduate or postgraduate) at the University of Brighton within the last five years.
The opportunity currently maps to study areas including All study areas. Use the programme and eligibility sections below to decide whether the opportunity matches your academic background before opening the official application portal.
Key dates
Eligibility requirements
- Successful candidates will receive a tax-free stipend (grant) at the UKRI rate (£20,780 per year for 2025-26, rising to £21,805 in 2026-27) and a Home (only) fee waiver. International applications will not be accepted.
- Study can be undertaken on either a full-time or part-time basis.
- Academic background: Explain who you are and your motivation to do a PhD in their field of study and with them.
“The studentships are open to applicants eligible for Home fees only and at least five of the studentships are reserved for alumni students who have completed degree studies (undergraduate or postgraduate) at the University of Brighton within the last five years.”
Should you apply?
This is a PhD / Doctoral-level opportunity working in All study areas. The decisive requirement, in University of Brighton's words, is: "The studentships are open to applicants eligible for Home fees only and at least five of the studentships are reserved for alumni students who have completed degree studies (undergraduate or postgraduate) at the University of Brighton within the last five years."
Check these against your profile
- Academic level: PhD / Doctoral.
- Study area: All study areas.
- Funding package: fully funded.
This is a factual checklist of verified programme requirements, not a personalised eligibility decision. The awarding institution makes the final eligibility decision.
Application process
- Log in or register as a new user to complete a University of Brighton online application
- Select 'apply to a new course'.
- Select the type of course 'research degree'.
- Select mode of study 'full-time' or 'part-time'.
- Apply online
Application checklist
- Compare your profile with the verified eligibility criteria on this page.
- Complete the verified supervisor requirement before submitting the final application.
- Use the official application route linked on this page rather than a third-party submission form.
- Submit before the verified application timing shown in the Key dates section.
This checklist organises the verified requirements already shown on this page; it does not replace the provider’s official instructions.
Frequently asked questions
How much does PhD studentships open call 2025-26 pay?
University of Brighton states: "The University of Brighton is pleased to launch an open call for up to 10 fully-funded PhD studentships with start dates from June to July 2026."
Is PhD studentships open call 2025-26 fully funded?
Yes. The verified funding record classifies it as fully funded.
Who can apply?
In University of Brighton's own words: "The studentships are open to applicants eligible for Home fees only and at least five of the studentships are reserved for alumni students who have completed degree studies (undergraduate or postgraduate) at the University of Brighton within the last five years."
What level of study is it for?
It is for PhD / Doctoral level applicants at University of Brighton in Multiple / not stated.
Is PhD studentships open call 2025-26 still open?
No. The most recent round has closed (deadline 30 April 2026). This award has run before; check the official page for the next round.
Where do I apply?
Directly with University of Brighton, through the official application page linked from this record.
Do I need a supervisor before applying?
Yes. The application record indicates a supervisor must be secured before or as part of the application.
How was this information verified?
Every fact on this page was read from University of Brighton's official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier rechecks automatically; the sources and the last check date are listed at the bottom of the page.
Official sources & verification
ScholarshipFrontier checks official scholarship, admissions and programme pages and keeps source evidence separate from the public summary.
Official sources last checked: 12 Oct 2026 · Verified 1 h ago
About University of Brighton
University of Brighton is based in Multiple / not stated and publishes this opportunity on its own official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier reads directly.