Funding & benefits
Successful candidates will receive a tax-free stipend (grant) at the UKRI rate (£20,780 per year for 2025-26) and a Home (only) fee waiver. International applications are welcome however the difference between Home and international fees will need to be met by any successful candidate.
Study can be undertaken on either a full-time or part-time basis.
The AHRC guidelines for funding stipulate that studentship recipients must live in the UK and within reasonable travel time of the institution at which they are registered.
“Each studentship provides Home (UK) tuition fees and an annual stipend (grant) at UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) rates (currently £20,780 per year) plus some research and training costs.”
Eligible programmes & fields
Use the verified study fields above for subject-fit screening and confirm the exact eligible degree on the provider’s official programme page before applying.
About this opportunity
The award covers Home tuition fees and pays a tax-free stipend of £20,780 per year for 2025-26. It also includes some research and training costs. International students can apply but must pay the difference between Home and international fees themselves. You must submit a research proposal of up to 2000 words by 22 February 2026.
The opportunity currently maps to study areas including All study areas. Use the programme and eligibility sections below to decide whether the opportunity matches your academic background before opening the official application portal.
Key dates
Eligibility requirements
- Successful candidates will receive a tax-free stipend (grant) at the UKRI rate (£20,780 per year for 2025-26) and a Home (only) fee waiver. International applications are welcome however the difference between Home and international fees will need to be met by any successful candidate.
- Study can be undertaken on either a full-time or part-time basis.
- The AHRC guidelines for funding stipulate that studentship recipients must live in the UK and within reasonable travel time of the institution at which they are registered.
- All applicants must have successfully completed a Secure English Language Test (SELT) in the last two years unless they are from one of the UKVI-defined list of majority English-speaking countries.
- Applicants who are studying for, or have obtained in the last three years, a degree from an institution in the UK or one of the UKVI-defined majority-English speaking countries may apply without a SELT. However, the university may request a SELT is taken as part of any award made. See UK Government guidance for full details
- English language IELTS requirements should be 7.0 overall, 7.0 for writing, and none below 6.5.
- Academic background: We are proud of our wide range of arts, architecture and humanities research and we welcome projects that push the boundaries of traditional disciplines and those that are truly inter-disciplinary, including standard and practice-based research.
Should you apply?
Applicants should be at PhD / Doctoral level working in All study areas. Expect to prepare 1 document (listed below).
Check these against your profile
- Academic level: PhD / Doctoral.
- Study area: All study areas.
- English-language requirement: English language IELTS requirements should be 7.0 overall, 7.0 for writing, and none belo….
Review carefully if
- Applicants who cannot meet the stated language requirement should review the official waiver/rule carefully.
This is a factual checklist of verified programme requirements, not a personalised eligibility decision. The awarding institution makes the final eligibility decision.
Required documents
- Applicants will be required to attach a research proposal to their application. This should include a summary, research questions, context, methods and plan with a maximum word count of 2000 words, plus references. See How to Apply (in Research proposal) below for guidance and links.
Application process
- Apply online
- Log in or register as a new user to complete a University of Brighton online application
- Select the following options from the drop down menus
Application checklist
- Compare your profile with the verified eligibility criteria on this page.
- Review the official application page for the complete list of required documents.
- Use the official application route linked on this page rather than a third-party submission form.
- Submit before the verified application timing shown in the Key dates section.
This checklist organises the verified requirements already shown on this page; it does not replace the provider’s official instructions.
Frequently asked questions
What funding comes with PhD studentships AHRC Landscape Award?
University of Brighton states: "Each studentship provides Home (UK) tuition fees and an annual stipend (grant) at UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) rates (currently £20,780 per year) plus some research and training costs."
Which degree level does PhD studentships AHRC Landscape Award support?
It is for PhD / Doctoral level applicants at University of Brighton in Multiple / not stated.
Is an English test required?
English language IELTS requirements should be 7.0 overall, 7.0 for writing, and none belo….
Is PhD studentships AHRC Landscape Award still open?
No. The most recent round has closed (deadline 22 February 2026). This award has run before; check the official page for the next round.
Where do I apply?
Directly with University of Brighton, through the official application page linked from this record.
Which documents does University of Brighton ask for?
The official page lists 1 item: Applicants will be required to attach a research proposal to their application. This should include a summary, research questions, context, methods and plan with a maximum word count of 2000 words, plus references. See How to Apply (in Research proposal) below for guidance and links.
How was this information verified?
Every fact on this page was read from University of Brighton's official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier rechecks automatically; the sources and the last check date are listed at the bottom of the page.
Official sources & verification
ScholarshipFrontier checks official scholarship, admissions and programme pages and keeps source evidence separate from the public summary.
Official sources last checked: 12 Oct 2026 · Verified 2 h ago
About University of Brighton
University of Brighton is based in Multiple / not stated and publishes this opportunity on its own official pages, which ScholarshipFrontier reads directly.